top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrooke Kesky

An Unusual Home

A homebody is someone who prefers to stay in their home and are seen as "unadventurous". Trust me, I would know. But in my case, home isn't what you think it is. Home isn't a structural building that I come back to each night. To me, home is incapable of being perceived by the sense of touch. Home is the people I'm around and the feelings I have when with those people. I could be thousands of miles away from my house, but only a few feet away from my home. It is the warm feeling that you get when you're having the happiest time of your life. It is the laughter that fills your lungs to the top until it's hard to breathe. My home is ever changing. People who used to be my home have moved on. Places that used to be my home have been torn down. But in recent years, new construction has occurred. I have made new homes with new people. Experiences I've had have led me to feel comfortable with new ideas. My home isn't a house. My home is with me always because it is a part of me. My house fulfills the needs of my materialistic day to day functions, but my home fulfills my soul's functions. So maybe it's time we start building more homes instead of more houses.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Minimalist's Bucket List

1. Dance in the rain 2. Play Board games when the power goes out 3. Chase a sunset 4. Have a picnic 5. Visit a pumpkin patch 6. Build a snowman 7. Watch the stars 8. Snorkel 9. Write a message in a bo

bottom of page